Charles Hill Douglas

Click here to 
Print this page

Biography finder





























Index of first names


Charles Hill Douglas, who died at his residence, "Moorakyne," Malvern, near Melbourne, on 30th March last (1898), was the younger son of the late David Douglas, W.S., of Edinburgh, and was born in that city 25th September, 1842, and educated at the Edinburgh Academy.

He came out to Victoria in 1859, and was thus a colonist of thirty-eight years at the time of his death. His first colonial experience was gained with Mr. George Black, at Tarwin, and subsequently on the late Mr. George Fairbairn's "Illilawa" station, on the Murrumbidgee, near Hay. Whilst there Mr. Douglas brought the first draught of sheep overland from South Australia to "Illilawa." In 1863 the deceased gentleman, in conjunction with his brother, Mr. Henry Douglas, and Mr. Archibald Menzies, acquired "Gelam" and "Budgee-Budgee" cattle stations, on the Murrumbidgee, from the late Mr. William Campbell.

During the next year "Budgee-Budgee" was resold to Mr. James Richmond. "Gelam" was held by the partnership, which was known as Menzies and Douglas for two years longer. In the year 1865 Mr. C. H. Douglas and his brother, Mr. H. Douglas, bought "Bringenbrong" and "Khancobin" cattle stations, adjoining each other, on the Upper Murray, and in the following year they also bought "Indi" station adjoining, all three from Messrs. Grey Bros.

About three years later Messrs. Menzies, Douglas and Co., consisting of Messrs. C. H. Douglas, H. Douglas, A. Menzies, R. H. Kinnear, and T. Nicoll, bought "North Yanko" sheep station from Messrs. McNeill Bros. "Bringenbrong," "Khancobin," and "Indi" were sold in 1876 to Mr. Thomas Mitchell, and at about the same time the other partners bought out of "North Yanco," leaving only the two Douglas Bros, as owners. They then purchased "Walla Walla," near Albury, N.S.W., and both "North Yanco" and "Walla Walla" are still held by them. For some time Mr. Douglas was interested in "Eurella" station, Queensland, only recently severing his connection with it.

In 1870 the deceased married Miss Henrietta Chapman, daughter of Mr. William Chapman, of "Lumley Park," Bungonia, N.S.W. On several occasions he visited England. Mr. Douglas was a well-known figure in Melbourne, and was much liked and highly respected by all who came into contact with him.

His remains lie in Dunfermline Abbey graveyard.

Research notes:
•  George Black (See Australian Dictionary of Biography) may be a relative.  There is a relationship of some sort between David Douglas WS and James Douglas and his wife Helen Black who are commemorated in Dunfermline Abbey.
•  In 1885, a George Henry Douglas is linked with North Yanko.
•  James Henry Douglas, a politician, also farmed at North Yanco.



Sources for this article include:

•  Australasian Pastoralists' Review, 15 April 1898

Any contributions will be gratefully accepted


Back to top


The content of this website is a collection of materials gathered from a variety of sources, some of it unedited.

The webmaster does not intend to claim authorship, but gives credit to the originators for their work.

As work progresses, some of the content may be re-written and presented in a unique format, to which we would then be able to claim ownership.

Discussion and contributions from those more knowledgeable is welcome.

Contact Us

Last modified: Monday, 25 March 2024