Estate extends to over 40,000 acres of breathtaking Scottish West
Coast scenery and encapsulates the traditional images of a Highland
The Conaglen estate was purchased from the Macleans of Ardgour (The Douglas Archives compiler's maternal family) by the 18th Earl of Morton (The compilers paternal family) after the death of Alexander, 13th of Ardgour in 1858. It is currently owned by the Guthrie family.
The Loddington, Leicestershire, estate was also acquired at about the same time, probably for sporting purposes.
Inverscadle House, a tacksman’s house for the MacLean’s, fragments of which have recently been discovered in the kitchen wing, was largely replaced by an 1862 structure (a shooting house) called Conaglen House, by architect David Bryce, located at the juncture of Glens Cona and Scaddle, where their waters run into Inverscaddle Bay. The principal feature of its main block being Bryce's trademark full-height canted bay, crisply corbelled out to form a crowstepped gable. Extensive lower ranges included a smoking room extension to the north west, c.1920. Detached is a service block with central arched pend, which looks to be earlier.
An Episcopal Chapel was added to Conaglen House in in that year. This was subsequently de-consecrated, and a several of the artefacts were removed to Ardgour Parish Church, including a war memorial.
Whilst the 19th Earl of Morton lived in Conaglen House, his son, William, lived in Stroanreagan, now demolished, and his son Ronald and his wfe Alexandra were recorded as living in 'No1 Hut, Conaglen'
Back to top
The webmaster does not intend to claim authorship, but gives credit to the originators for their work.
As work progresses, some of the content may be re-written and presented in a unique format, to which we would then be able to claim ownership.
Discussion and contributions from those more knowledgeable is welcome.
Last modified: Saturday, 18 March 2017