William Douglas, Duke of Queensberry
William Douglas, 3rd Earl of Queensberry (1637–1695) (became Marquess of Queensberry in 1682, and Duke of Queensberry in 1684) was a Scottish politician.
William, third earl of Queensberry, was constituted by King Charles the second 1 June 1680 lord justice general of the kingdom of Scotland, and created 11 February 1682 baron Douglas of Kinmount, Middleby and Dornock, viscount of Nith, Torthorald and Ross, earl of Drumlanrig and Sanquhar, and marquis of Queensberry. He exchanged 12 May in that year the office of lord justice general for that of lord high treasurer of the kingdom of Scotland, and was farther created 3 November 1684 marquis of Dumfries, and duke of Queensberry. By king James the second he was appointed -- May 1685 lord high commissioner to the Scottish parliament, and -- February 1686 lord president of the privy council of that kingdom. In the latter end of that year he was removed from all his employments for refusing to consent to the repeal of the penal and test laws.
He was responsible for the construction of Drumlanrig Castle between 1679 and 1691. Legend holds that the Duke was so outraged at the cost of the castle's construction he refused to live in it. He purchased Queensberry House, in Edinburgh, probably from Dame Margaret Douglas of Balmakellie(1).
There is a theory that the Duke had another son, Samuel, who took, or was given, the name Marksberry. Marksberry's do appear to have Douglas DNA, so there may be some truth in this story.
Back to top
The webmaster does not intend to claim authorship, but gives credit to the originators for their work.
As work progresses, some of the content may be re-written and presented in a unique format, to which we would then be able to claim ownership.
Discussion and contributions from those more knowledgeable is welcome.
Last modified: Saturday, 18 March 2017