|Samuel Douglass House, 215 N. Main St.
in Payson, Utah was built in 1874 and later substantially altered. It
was updated to include Bungalow/craftsman architecture in 1912, and won
a high school civics class award.
It was listed on the National
Register of Historic Places in 1992. It is also a contributing building
in the Payson Historic District, which was listed on the National
Register in 2007.
A Utah State Historical plaque on the front of
the house reads:
Samuel Douglass House
Built in 1874 and
expanded c. 1894 and 1912, the Samuel Douglass House is architecturally
significant in Payson. It is an excellent local example of the
vernacular interpretation of nineteenth-century Greek and Gothic Revical
styles subsequently adapted to twentieth-century Bungalow and Arts and
Crafts styles. The house is also significant for its unique, original
floor plan, which remains easily discernable.
Samuel Douglass was
born in 1850 in Salt Lake City, moving to the Peteetneet community in
1863. He followed his father in the general merchandise business and
served in several civic positions. He married Emma Jane Dixon in 1874
and was recognized as a successful businessman and supporter of
important civic projects such as the Strawberry Valley Project. His
house was wired for electricity in 1897 and was also amoung the first in
the community to have running water installed in 1902. The architectural
changes made to the house in 1912 reflected growing optimism in the area
and incorporated the latest Bungalow and Arts and Crafts styles.
Born March 1, 1850 in Salt Lake City, Utah
William Douglass and Agnes Cross
Brother of Margaret Sarah Douglass,
Agnes Douglass, William John Douglass, Matilda Douglass, Eliza R.
Douglass, Joseph Smith Douglass and Mary Elizabeth Douglass
of Emma Jane Dixon — married October 26, 1874 in Salt Lake City, Utah
Father of Mary Estelle Douglass
Died August 6, 1918 in Payson, Utah,