Mouswald Place is a 16th century stone tower house, founded by the Carruthers family.
The largest and the only remaining border tower in the Mouswald parish, the sites of four others have been lost. Sadly only the eastern half of this tower, with its plain walls and unvaulted basement, stands to any height.
In 1570, Lady Marion Carruthers fell to her death at
Comlongon Castle, to avoid her
marriage contract to Sir
James Douglas, of Drumlanrig but upon her death, he still obtain
Marion's half of the Mouswald estate.
Back to top
The webmaster does not intend to claim authorship, but gives credit to the originators for their work.
As work progresses, some of the content may be re-written and presented in a unique format, to which we would then be able to claim ownership.
Discussion and contributions from those more knowledgeable is welcome.
Last modified: Saturday, 18 March 2017