Lincluden Collegiate Church
Lincluden College Tower is a 16th century stone tower house, founded by the Provost William Stewart.
In the late 14th century the area became part of
the fief of Archibald the Grim, Lord of Galloway, and latterly
Archibald the Grim,
3rd Earl of Douglas. The nuns at Lincluden had reputedly broken
their vows of chastity and were guilty of licentious behaviour,
Douglas with an eye on the revenues from the priory, sat in judgement
over them and found them guilty. He dismissed the nuns from the
priory. Perhaps penitent at the expulsion of the nuns, Earl Archibald
ordered the construction of a new church to be built, and set up a
College consisting of a Provost and twelve Canons.
Robert Douglas (q.v.) was the eighteenth and last provost of Lincluden. The Provostship of Lincluden was secured for him by his father, Sir James Douglas of Drumlanrig circa 1547. Robert Douglas's grand-nephew, William Douglas, the heir of Drumlanrig, obtained a reversion of the provostry, and, after Robert's death, enjoyed its property and revenues during his own life.
After the Reformation, the three storey range immediately adjacent to the church, was doubled in length and a four storey tower added to its northern end. Guarding the ground floor entrance, is the remains of a projecting semi-octagonal stair turret, with gunloops.
The tower stands in the bailey of Kirkhill Mote and 5 miles east is Torthorwald Castle.
Lincluden College Tower is located north of Dumfries, off Abbey Lane. A mile north of Dumfries, on the A780-A76.
The site is owned by Historic Scotland and is open daily.
Back to top
The webmaster does not intend to claim authorship, but gives credit to the originators for their work.
As work progresses, some of the content may be re-written and presented in a unique format, to which we would then be able to claim ownership.
Discussion and contributions from those more knowledgeable is welcome.
Last modified: Saturday, 18 March 2017