Camp Douglas, Wisconsin

Click here to 
Print this page

Biography finder

A

B

C

D

E

F

G

H

I

J

K

L

M

N

O

P

Q

R

S

T

U

V

W

X

Y

Z

 

 

Index of first names


This page is a stub.

he Village of Camp Douglas, Wisconsin, nestled among the rugged peaks of natural rock formations and the beautiful terrain of the area, is the western gateway to Juneau County and the home of Volk Field/Camp Williams military facilities. Volk Field is a full service military readiness training complex. Co-located with Volk Field is Camp Williams, which is operated by the Army National Guard.

Camp Douglas was established in 1870. The village was named after a logging camp established by James Douglas, which brought wood to steam locomotives. He had arrived in 1864. A post office called Camp Douglas has been in operation since 1873.

The Village of Camp Douglas is the kind of community where you can get to know your neighbours. Some of the most breathtaking bluffs and rock formations surround the Village. Lakes, parks and a wildlife refuge are only minutes away. The Omaha Bike, Hiking and Snowmobile Trail stretches from Camp Douglas to Elroy, and includes an 875 foot tunnel. The trail also connects to the Elroy-Sparta Trail and the 400 State Trail. The Village of Camp Douglas has roads open to ATV/UTVs which also connect to other surrounding municipal trails.

The History of Camp Douglas download

Research note:
• There is a claim that Douglas County in Colorado was also named after James Douglas.



Any contributions will be gratefully accepted





Back to top

The content of this website is a collection of materials gathered from a variety of sources, some of it unedited.

The webmaster does not intend to claim authorship, but gives credit to the originators for their work.

As work progresses, some of the content may be re-written and presented in a unique format, to which we would then be able to claim ownership.

Discussion and contributions from those more knowledgeable is welcome.

Contact Us

Last modified: Saturday, 18 March 2017