Although not certain, it appears Badds (or Badds) Mansion or Castle was the first mansion to be built on the estate of Badds, and probably dates from 1558. It stood on the west side of the road to Carnwath, near Baddo Mill (or Baadsmill) (NT 0025 5978). Another source places the castle near West Calder, in West Lothian, NT 893724.
In the History of West Calder it is said to have stood to the west
of the road to Carnwath, near Baads Mill, although there is no trace
of any building having stood there. On John Adair’s map of 1735,
Baads House is shown in a north-westerly direction from Little
Harwood. This map was surveyed in 1680, and an earlier map, that by
a Dutchman Domed Blaeu, was printed in 1654, showed Baads to be
situated west of Muirhousedykes.
An Alexander Douglas appeared to own the Baads estate (including a seam of coal) in 1793. It was certainly a colliery in the 20th century.
It is, however, interesting to note that Baron Douglas of Baads is 'of Midlothian'. Leonard Douglas acquired the estate of Baads in Midlothian on 16 April 1551. Is this the same place? Have boundaries changed?
1. James Carroll
our Forum: "There was never a castle. This was a myth put around
by locals in the 19th century"
Back to top
The webmaster does not intend to claim authorship, but gives credit to the originators for their work.
As work progresses, some of the content may be re-written and presented in a unique format, to which we would then be able to claim ownership.
Discussion and contributions from those more knowledgeable is welcome.
Last modified: Saturday, 18 March 2017