This page is a stub
The site of Drumsargard Castle (New Statistical Account [NSA] 1845;
Ordnance Survey Name Book [ONB] 1858) is represented by a circular
mound, level on top, about 20' in height and 140' in diameter, at
the W end of a small ridge. Some remains were extant about 1775, but
there is now no trace of the castle to be seen, its stones having
been used to build Hallside farm. Human bones have been found at the
site, and on many occasions ancient coins, the dates of which have
not been ascertained, have been picked up. This must have been a
position of considerable strength, being surrounded by wet, marshy
ground which could easily be flooded, except on the E, where there
is said to have been a drawbridge.
The Parish of Cambuslang in the Barony of Drumsargard can be traced back to the time of King Alexander II of Scotland (1214-49) when it belonged to Walter Olifard, Justiciar of Lothian. The Barony of Drumsargard passed to Archibald Douglas, 3rd Earl of Douglas in 1370, as part of the settlement in his marriage to Johanna, daughter of Thomas Moray of Bothwell. In 1452 the Douglases were displaced in favour of James Lord Hamilton, who became tenant-in-chief in 1455. This feudal superiority remained with the Dukes of Hamilton – who were also the largest landowners – up until 1922, though the abolition of feudalism in Scotland did not come until the end of the 20th Century.
Further details of the Barony can be found here>>>
Back to top
The webmaster does not intend to claim authorship, but gives credit to the originators for their work.
As work progresses, some of the content may be re-written and presented in a unique format, to which we would then be able to claim ownership.
Discussion and contributions from those more knowledgeable is welcome.
Last modified: Saturday, 18 March 2017